BJP, Cong. to slug it out at Goa bypolls

first_imgOver 50,000 voters in Panaji and Valpoi Assembly constituencies of North Goa are likely to cast their vote at 76 polling stations on Wednesday. North Goa Collector Nila Mohanan said here on Tuesday that 30 polling stations in Panaji and 46 in Valpoi will remain open for voting from 8 a.m. and the polling process will be webcast. About 1,000 police personnel from Goa police, Indian Reserve Battalion and Central Para Military Forces will be deployed at ensure smooth conduct of bypolls in the Assembly constituencies.Voter Verified Paper Audit Trail will be used and there will be two model Pink Polling Booths managed by women, one in each constituency. There are seven candidates in the fray, four in Panaji and three in Valpoi.The Congress has fielded AICC Secretary Girish Chodankar against Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar in Panaji. Anand Shirodkar of Goa Suraksha Manch and Independent Kenneth Silveira are the other candidates in the fray.In Valpoi, Health Minister Vishwajit Rane of the BJP is contesting against Roy Naik of the Congress and Independent candidate Rohidas Gaonkar. Votes will be counted on August 28.Notices have issued to 418 people by the law and order agencies ahead of polling as precautionary measures.last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *